This Can’t Be Life

Jay-Z once said, “This can’t be life, there’s gotta be more…” I feel like that often, and at times, the thing we call life can seem overrated. We go through life and at the end of the day, we’ve rarely fully utilized our potential and talents to make the world a better place than it was when we arrived. Some may say, “who cares?” But if you share my ideology on life, then you also believe we were placed here for a purpose. No one knows exactly what our purpose is, but our creator spent his life spreading love, and helping those that needed help. He fed the hungry and healed the sick, amongst many other things. If we are to live in His image, then we must spend our lives doing the same…spreading love.

2 thoughts on “This Can’t Be Life

  1. Christopher Gordon August 29, 2013 / 10:23 pm

    I often battle with this same dilemma. I often feel like I could/should be doing a lot more with my life yet, I don’t know what, or even how to do more. It’s a weird and sometime depressing state of mind to be in. Introspection is key when trying to over come this, I believe.

    • iyaddae December 10, 2013 / 11:56 pm

      Chris please forgive my delayed response. Somehow I missed this. But you’re not alone. I think many people feel this way. Many of us pursued life/career choices based on what we were told or exposed to. I often find that many people are not making a living doing what they’re most skilled at or passionate about. Also consider the societal influences that lead us down the path of consumerism instead of creationism. A balance does exist, and it is possible to discover your true purpose and align that with the need to make a living. Don’t give up the constant search of self.

Leave a Reply

